Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) updated their salesperson and broker licensing requirements in order to renew and maintain your Texas Real Estate License. Long gone are the days a seasoned salesperson or broker could renew their license with 15 hours. The new TREC requires licensees to earn 18 CE hours in order to renew their license. Don’t wait until the last minute to squeeze in those three extra hours or you could find yourself forking over a hefty fine to continue plugging along as a licensee.
Salespersons Licensed Two Years or Less
For those who have been licensed less than two years, you must complete 98 hours SAE hours by their first renewal. PLEASE NOTE: 90 CE hours does not equate to 90 SAE hours so please proceed with caution when selecting a course to ensure it delivers SAE hours not CE hours. In addition to taking a course netting SAE hours, the certificate must be submitted to TREC using a Salesperson Apprentice Education Cover Sheet.
Salespersons Licensed Two Years or More
For those who have a salesperson license, have held it two years or longer and have already renewed your license once, you will need to complete 18 CE hours by their next renewal date to maintain their salespersons license. These 18 hours will include a 4 hour hour Legal Update I course (replacing the 3 CE TREC Ethics course) and a 4 hour Legal Update II course (replacing the 3 CE TREC Legal course). This leaves 10 CE hours remaining and gives the licensee the ability to choose those CE elective courses at their discretion, with the exception that 3 of those 10 CE hours must be pertaining to contracts and licensees must take an approved TREC contracts course.
Brokers, Designated Brokers or Delegated Supervisor
For those who have a brokers license, are the brokerage designated realtor or a delegated brokerage supervisor who supervise more than one agent more than six months, will need to complete 18 CE hours by their next renewal date to maintain their salespersons license, which should include a 6 hour Broker Responsibility course, a 4 hour hour Legal Update I (replacing the 3 CE TREC Ethics course) course and a 4 hour Legal Update II course (replacing the 3 CE TREC Legal course), 3 CE hours of contracts and this leaves 1 CE hours remaining and gives giving the ability for the broker to choose those CE elective courses.
More than the Minimum
While there may be a requirement for 30 hours SAE or 18 hours CE to maintain your real estate license, we believe education is extremely important – especially education taught in a classroom setting. While one should ensure minimum requirements for your licensure status is met, taking a courses to further your career is more rewarding than taking education to maintain your license.